Music Television Or Reality Television ?

Image

It has caught my attention how much MTV has changed or how some people say “Upgraded”, but not for the best. MTV stands for Music Televesion, but is it really music television? When you watch MTV is their music videos playing or do you see another one of those lame reality shows? 

Image

When I was growing up back in the ’90s MTV’s meaning was relevant. Everyday they would show Total Request Live aka TRL. The show would play the top ten pop, rock, R&B, and hip hop music videos, and feature live interviews with artists and celebrities. Which all of that had to do with music. People would even take the time to go online and vote for the favorite artist and song so that their favorite artist would win the number one spot. When the show came to an end in 2008 it really bummed me out because MTV wasent playing enough music videos anymore. Reality shows were taking over what use to be music televison.

ImageImage

Im sure everyone who watches MTV has atleast watched one of the many reality shows MTV has, but what does “Teen Mom” or “Jersey Shore” or any other reality show have to do with music? Reality shows take away the concept behind MTV. Now when you watch MTV they hardly play any music videos or even worst they dont even show any music videos at all. Last time I saw a music video on MTV was around midnight and that was because I couldnt sleep. Seriously though who wants to stay up at midnight to watch music videos. People are sleeping at the time. Reality shows are nothing but drama that seem to make people “famous.” Their has even been a poll made where it shows that people want the old MTV back where they would play more music oppose to how it is right now. http://www.fanpop.com/spots/mtv

Im not saying all reality shows are bad, but they really dont belong in MTV. Otherwise why be named Music Televison if their arent any music videos being shown or anything realiting to music.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Music Television Or Reality Television ?

  1. castromaria says:

    I totally agree with you. I think MTV should play more music videos and less reality shows. After all it is a Music Television channel. I miss all the old shows like TRL.

  2. scanana says:

    I also agree with you, all MTV plays, is realty TV shows and other dramas. Another thing that bothers me is that they always replay those shows ATHOUSAND TIMES. MTV should go back to playing more music and less drama!

  3. I also agree with this. I miss the days where I could hear some great music on a television station but instead I find myself avoiding MTV as much as possible due to all the reality television that has taken over the network. I’m not sure if it’s because management was changed or if they decided to go a different route with entertainment but all I know is that I miss the old days.

  4. alvarez831 says:

    Yeah MTV needs to go back to there old ways its crazy how many stupid reality shows that there are now.

  5. Vivian Nguyen says:

    Over the years mtv has really evolved. They aren’t based on music anywhere however everything on here is nothing but reality tv shows. I rarely ever see anything based on music. If they are going to play shows all day, I think they should rename their network.

  6. msdulche says:

    America LOVES reality TV! That is what we are known for, but I agree not just with that but with everything. Like Nickeloden and Disney were WAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYY better back in the 90s! I really hate Jersey Shore and only 2 people out of that whole cast are italian….MTV has gone down the drain! I never really like TRL though, they would put on a song and play for a minuet….kind of annoying.

  7. MTV has grown into a television series that consists of drama. It should be about music. I mean it’s Music Television. I don;t watch MTV anymore.

Leave a comment